Body Piercing And Tattoos

                             

Monday, July 18, 2005

Tattoo, body piercing places face standards

Tattoo, body piercing places face standards
When I was growing up, teenage girls were allowed one and only one ear piercing.
It was not cool for any male to have any kind of piercing. Tattoos were not widely accepted either. People who sported tattoos and body piercing back then were looked upon with some disdain. For the most part, the places that did the tattooing and piercing were not widely accepted either. Times have changed. Nowadays, from the nose to the toes, it seems like body piercing and tattooing is becoming more popular everyday. At the same time, the tattoo and piercing industry has, for the most part, become regulated. Those regulations have brought up business and sanitation standards to help insure that your son, daughter, husband, wife, father, or mother will receive a quality service without fear of having a bad experience. If you or anyone you know is looking to be pierced, prodded, or poked, look for some of the following standards before you take the plunge:The Texas Department of Health requires all tattoo and body piercing businesses to be licensed. The business must display the license in a conspicuous place. Tattooists and piercers must also be registered with the Department of Health. Use only a licensed business that employs registered employees. The business must also keep a permanent record of all tattoos and piercings performed. Businesses that perform only ear piercing are exempt from the license and registration requirements.A person must be at least 18 years of age to receive a tattoo in the State of Texas. Persons younger than 18 may have tattoos that are deemed offensive or questionable removed with the consent of their parents. Parents or guardians may appear with a person who is less than 18 years of age to give their consent. Consent may also be given in the form of an affidavit, however, there are additional requirements that apply in preparation of the affidavit. A person must also be 18 years of age to receive a body piercing in the State of Texas. Parents may give consent for those younger than 18 by appearing in person with them. Written consent may also be given, however, the process is more restrictive and the consent must specify what part of the body is to be pierced. Neither the person performing the tattoo or piercing, nor the person receiving the tattoo or piercing can be under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Businesses must also keep their equipment clean and sterile and unused equipment must be kept in clean dust-tight containers. In addition to these important basic rules, there are a number of administrative rules placed on tattoo and piercing businesses. For more information on existing laws or to file a complaint about a business, contact the Texas Department of Health at 512-424-6500, or visit the Health and Safety Code, Chapter 146 on the internet at www.state.tx.us and the go to laws and statutes section. Make sure your experience with tattooing or piercing is a good one. For more information on this or any other crime prevention topic, contact the Conroe Police Department Crime Prevention Unit at 756-5588, ext. 2250, 2327 or 2226.